FMI - The Food Industry Association, which recently changed its named from the Food Marketing Institute, has named a new board of directors.

The new board reflects the business of food and related grocery products, “wherever they are bought, sold or produced,” according to FMI.

FMI introduced six product suppliers to its board and named a new term chairman, Randy Edeker, chairman, president and CEO of Hy-Vee, Inc., at the FMI Midwinter Executive Conference.


“FMI views the marketplace — in its many manifestations — as the place where the food industry fulfills its mission of feeding and enriching society,” FMI President and CEO Leslie Sarasin said at the conference. “We embrace the full breadth of the food industry, particularly as companies become more interconnected and vertically integrated up and down the supply chain.”


New Officers (2-year term) include:

  • Chairman, Randy Edeker, Hy-Vee, Inc., West Des Moines, IA
  • President and CEO, Leslie Sarasin, FMI, Arlington, VA
  • Immediate Past Chairman, Joseph Sheridan, Wakefern Food Corporation, Keasbey, NJ
  • Vice Chairman, Finance: Brian George, Alex Lee, Inc., Hickory, NC
  • Vice Chairman, Communications: Jerry Golub, Price Chopper Supermarkets, Schenectady, NY
  • Vice Chairman, Industry Relations: Kevin Holt, Delhaize America, Salisbury, NC
  • Vice Chairman, Public Affairs: Laura Karet, Giant Eagle, Inc., Pittsburgh, PA
  • Vice Chairman, Food Safety: Susan Morris, Albertsons Companies, Boise, ID
  • Vice Chairman, Member Services: Michael Needler, Jr., Fresh Encounter, Inc., Findlay, OH
  • Vice Chairman, Product Supplier: Steve Presley, Nestlé USA, Inc., Arlington, VA
  • Vice Chairman, Wholesaler: Steve Spinner, United Natural Foods, Inc., Providence, RI
  • Vice Chairman, Independent Operators: Lauri Youngquist, Knowlan's Super Markets, Inc., St. Paul, MN


Newest Product Supplier Members include:

  • Mary Barnard, Mondelez International, East Hanover, NJ
  • Steven Oakland, TreeHouse Foods, Inc., Oak Brook, IL
  • Michael Potthoff, Anheuser-Busch Companies, LLC, St. Louis, MO
  • Steven Williams, PepsiCo, Inc., Plano, TX


New Chairman’s Appointees (2-year term) include:

  • Tim Figge, Hussmann Corporation, Bridgeton, MO
  • Anthony Hucker, Southeastern Grocers, LLC, Jacksonville, FL
  • Kenneth McGrath, Save-A-Lot, Ltd., Earth City, MO
  • Lori Mitchell-Keller, SAP America, Inc., Newtown Square, PA
  • John Ross, IGA, Inc., Chicago,IL
  • Randy Skoda, Topco Associates LLC, Elk Grove Village, IL
  • Tobias Wasmuht, SPAR International, Amsterdam, Netherlands