The Kroger Co.announced the retirement of Houston division President Bill Breetz, and the promotion of Marlene Stewart to succeed him. Stewart currently serves as president of the company's Dillons division.

Colleen Juergensen will succeed Stewart as president of Dillons. Juergensen currently serves as vice president of merchandising of the Smith's division.

Kroger also announced the promotion of Pam Matthews to serve as president of the company's QFC division. Matthews currently serves as vice president of operations for Kroger's Delta division. She succeeds Dennis Gibson, who was recently named president of the King Soopers/City Market division.

"Kroger has an exceptionally strong team of leaders who are fueling our growth and improving our connection with customers," saysRodney McMullen, Kroger's chairman and CEO. "Marlene, Colleen and Pam bring unmatched depth and experience to their new roles. They will help Kroger continue to make a difference for our customers, associates, and communities – and by doing so create value for our shareholders."