MISSION VIEJO, CALIF. — In celebration of its 20th anniversary, the Hass Avocado Board (HAB) recently held an award ceremony to recognize its numerous industry leaders across the globe with the theme “Making it Happen.”

"Growing US consumption of fresh avocados to more than 2 billion pounds per year since the establishment of the Hass Avocado Board in 2002 came thanks to the hard work of many talented, dedicated people from around the world,” said Salvador Dominguez, HAB Chairman. “Today, it is our honor to recognize several individuals for their prominent participation in our incredible success, for being relentless in their pursuit to ‘making it happen’ for the benefit of the whole avocado industry in the United States.”

Awardees met the recognition criteria by being affiliated with or serving as a staff member, board member, committee member or special subcommittee member for the HAB. Those affiliated with the California Avocado Commission (CAC) and the Importer Associations were also eligible.

The Industry Group awardees are the following:

  • Adrian Iturbide
  • Bob Schaar
  • Charley Wolk
  • Chris Henry
  • Dave Fausset
  • Enrique Camet
  • Gahl Crane
  • James C. Donovan
  • Jamie Johnson
  • Jorge Covarrubias
  • Jorge Hernandez
  • Jorge Restrepo
  • Jose Antonio Castro Echecopar
  • Ramon Paz-Vega
  • Ron Campbell
  • Salvador L. Dominguez
  • Scott Bauwens
  • Sergio Chavez
  • Xavier Equihua

The Past and Present Staff Group awardees are the following:

  • Alejandro Gavito
  • Emiliano Escobedo
  • Gina Widjaja
  • Jan DeLyser
  • John McGuigan
  • Jose Luis Obregon
  • Natalia Arias
  • Nikki Ford, PhD
  • Robert Rumph
  • Silvia Standke