United Fresh Produce Association, based in Washington, D.C., released its 2019 Retail Produce Manager Award list this week. The group of 25 produce managers represents supermarket banners, commissaries and independent retail stores from 16 states and two Canadian provinces. 

The winners will be guests at the United Fresh 2019 convention in Chicago, June 10-12. In addition to their awards, five Grand Prize recipients will each receive a $1,000 cash prize.

“Produce managers are the face of our industry to the consumer. Their creative merchandising and positive approach to customer service directly correlates to the growth of sales and ultimately consumption of fresh fruits and vegetables,” says Tom Stenzel,  United Fresh president and CEO. “We are grateful to Dole for once again sponsoring this program and for their partnership in recognizing these 25 deserving honorees. I look forward to celebrating our winners this June in Chicago.”

Since the program's inception in 2005, more than 325 retail produce managers, representing 110 retail banners, have been honored for the contributions to the industry.

The 2019 winners are:

  • Vincente Aguirre, Fort Bliss Commissary, El Paso, Texas
  • Gregory Barnufsky Jr., Yokes Fresh Markets, Spokane, Washington
  • Mike Burdi, Metro Ontario Inc., Toronto, Ontario
  • Jerry Clark II, The Fresh Market, Roanoke, Virginia
  • Cassandra Crone, North State Grocery Inc., Auburn, California
  • Bobby David, Audubon Market, St. Francisville, Louisiana
  • William Denault, Price Chopper Supermarkets, Lenox, Massachusetts
  • Elaine Fong, Calgary Co-op, Calgary, Alberta
  • Baryn Hagood-Lund, Safeway Inc., Everett, Washington
  • Heather Hudgins, MOM's Organic Markets, Whitemarsh, Maryland
  • Edward Jette, Big Y Foods, Easton, Massachusetts
  • Jason Karaffa, Albrecht's Senrty Foods, Delafield, Wisconsin
  • Robin Manwaring, Tops Friendly Markets, Pulaski, New York
  • Greg Miller, Raley's Family of Fine Stores, Chico, California
  • Michael Rowe, Brookeshire's Grocery Company, Bridgeport, Texas
  • David Scarlett, Food City/K-VA-T Food Stores, Knoxville, Tennessee
  • Martin Sevensky, Weis Markets, Inc., Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
  • Michael Sockett, Gelson's Markets, Valley Village, California
  • Jimmy Strickland, Harris Teeter, Fayetteville, North Carolina
  • Charles Tavacol, Giant Foods, McLean, Virginia
  • Roman Teig, Hy-Vee, Inc., Omaha, Nebraska
  • Jason Thompson, Hollywood Markets, Madison Heights, Michigan
  • David Thompson, The Kroger Company, Peachtree City, Georgia
  • Brittany Woodall, Fred Meyer, Bellevue, Washington
  • Patricia Young, Meijer, Springfield, Illinois